Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The University of Louisville

The University of Louisville has been my home for the past four years, but come May I will have to leave. I will be attending graduate school in a different state, but that’s beside the point at the moment. As graduation approaches, I have been thinking back on what I have done and experienced in Louisville and in the area, as well as about what I still would like to do before I leave.

I came to Louisville to earn a degree in Equine Administration. Louisville has been the perfect place for the horse fanatic that I am. Not only was I learning about the equine industry in the classroom, but I got to experience so many aspects of the horse world outside of class as well. My freshman year, I came to campus without a car. Shortly after arriving, I needed one to get to my job I got working at an equine hydrotherapy spa at Trackside Training Facility. The next year the spa moved to the backside of Churchill Downs. Not only did I get to spend those (very) early mornings petting the horses in the spa, but I got to meet a few well known trainers and horses.

I was also a member of the UofL Marching Band every year. It has been a fun way to practice my instrument and see a lot of the football games including two Bowl Games, but the band also plays at the Kentucky Derby. Performing at Derby is a huge bonus for the horse fan that I am. I still remember my first Derby when I played My Old Kentucky Home with the band (one of the few songs I actually memorized that year). I was literally about ten feet away from the winning horse, and I was also handed a Derby rose as we left after the presentation in the Winner’s Circle.

My First Kentucky Derby

Other great horse highlights for me was volunteering at the World Equestrian Games and the ROLEX Three Day Event at the Kentucky Horse Park. While not technically in Louisville, such events were well worth the hour or so drive to Lexington. Both events are great experiences for any horse lover and would be enjoyable to others as well. The World Equestrian Games was an important event as it is only held every four years. 2010 was the very first time it had ever been held in the United States. On the other end, the ROLEX is held every year at the Horse Park. While ROLEX is a ‘smaller’ event than the World Equestrian Games, it is still an important part of the equestrian community and a lot of fun to go and experience (the cross-country jumping phase is popular among the general public as well as horse people).

World Equestrian Games: Cross-Country

World Equestrian Games: Combined Driving Obstacle Phase

ROLEX Cross-Country Phase

ROLEX Cross-Country Phase

Louisville is a great town with lots of not so horse centered things to do going on throughout the year. I have been to numerous museums downtown including Fraizer History Museum, 21c, and the Science Center (several of the museums are free in general or for students). There are also many events that take place throughout the year, such as the St. James Court Art Show in the fall to Shakespeare in the Park over the summer. For theatre lovers, there is also more great productions put on throughout the area. A highlight that I enjoyed was Dracula put on by Actors Theatre around Halloween and the performances at Derby Dinner Playhouse just over the river in Indiana.

Sitting in Captain Kirk's Chair at the Louisville Science Center's Star Trek Exhibit

The cast of Dracula and myself

Looking back on my four years, I have experienced a lot that Louisville and the surrounding area has to offer. There are a few things I plan on enjoying again before I leave and some things I have yet to experience that are on my “to do before graduation” list. I’m volunteering at ROLEX again the last weekend in April. Then there’s the Pegasus Parade and Derby to look forward too the next weekend with band. I also hope to see one more play (possibly at Derby Dinner) with my parents before I leave. Then a “must do” is to experience more of the Kentucky Derby Festival. I plan on finally seeing the Balloon Glow, going to a few concerts, and definitely seeing Thunder Over Louisville in person instead of just watching on tv. With so much to see and do in Louisville, I’m sure I’ll miss something, but that’s just an excuse to come back and visit in the future.